Captive8 Media

Itunes makes my CD/DVD Drive Disappear!

Posted on: January 27, 2008

I have had people talking to me about how their CD/DVD drive isnt visible in windows explorer any more just after they have installed itunes onto their vista PC. There is a simple fix for this other than the extreme option of restoring your machine to factory settings.

 What itunes does is it changes the upper-filters in the registry key for your CD/DVD drive so that windows doesn’t recognise it anymore so it wont be displayed in windows explorer.

 BEFORE you do this please make a system restore point, you can make one of these by selecting “system restore” in Start > Accessories > System Tools.

 All we need to do to fix this is to delete the upper filters from our CD/DVD drive registry key and re-boot so that windows then remakes at start-up.

  • Press the start button and in the search bar at the bottom of the start menu type “regedit”
  • Click on “regedit.exe” in the search results and then give permission when windows asks you to open the registry editor.
  • On the tree view in the left side of the registry editor find “HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE” and maximise this
  • The in HKEY LOCAL MACHINE maximise SYSTEM
  • in SYSTEM maximise CurrentControlSet
  • In CurrentControlSet maximise Control
  • in Control Maximise Class

In the class tree their should be a list of keys with very long names (example: {0475BB51-5A02-4EE0-B36C-29040FAD2650}) click on the first one under Class and look to the right panel their should be information about that key and you need see if that key says “CD/DVD drives”, keep checking each key in the class tree until you find that.

Now once you have found the CD/DVD drives key in the right panel their should be upper-filters and lower-filters, delete these (note: there might be two lower and upper filters with the second set having a .bak extension make sure you don’t delete these if you do). once you have deleted these close the registry editor and re-boot.

 Your drive should now be visible as windows makes a new set of lower and upper filters for the CD/DVD drives registry key.

Thanks for reading

21 Responses to "Itunes makes my CD/DVD Drive Disappear!"

Yeah that worked in terms of bring the drive back but now every time I open iTunes an error message pops up.
“The registry setting used by the iTunes drivers for importing and burning CDs and DVDs are missing. This can happen as a result of installing other CD burning software. Please reinstall iTunes.”
When I reinstall iTunes the Upper filter returns and we are back to square one.
Is there anyway to have both working as they should or even a way of turning the CD & DVD burning function of iTunes off so that the annoying error message won’t pop up every time I open iTunes.
Thanks

Linda:

I have the exact same issue with iTunes and Vista. Did you get any responsed or fix suggestions?

Thanks

JRF1

Nah I never got a reply.
😦

I have the exact same problem 😦

I had the same problem so I took Itunes out, never liked it anyway, as I don’t own an Ipod, so I burnt on to CD and ripped back off!

Now I use napster till I can find a solution!

I’m afraid Apple is just terrible when it comes to software development as well as support. I mean, this kind of thing should never happen.

Same issues, I’ve just been dealing with it. I delete the upperfilters key, remove the CD/DVD from the device manager and have it reinstal, then reinstall/repair itunes.

It works great until I have to restart the computer (which I rarely do). This is a DELL computer, I cannot believe that everyone is having this problem. Does anyone here with this problem use video game downloading services, or daemon tools? There has to be some way around this.

Here is the fix!! After spending hours and trying everything out there. I came across the correct fix:
follow this link
http://www.gearsoftware.com/wiki/index.php?title=CD/DVD_drives_disappear_after_installing_iTunes

It may be a problem of incompatability with itunes and your disc drive. do you have a matshita ujda760. i was told that i had to use a different music program to burn cds. they removed some filters so that my disc drive will show up but i have to use roxio to burn cds .

If you’re experiencing the “Registry settings won’t let iTunes burn” popup, you can fix it like this:

1. Download the latest GEAR drivers (ftp://downloads.gearsoftware.com/updates/windows/drivers/Driver_Installer_x86_x64.exe) and install them.
2. Open regedit, and navigate to the same key listed above. Find the item called ‘UpperFilters’ and right click it, and choose Modify.
3. In Modify, type (without quotes) “GEARAspiWDM”. This should be the only item in your UpperFilters.
4. Reboot your machine. Upon reboot, your CD drives should be in Explorer, and iTunes will no longer create this popup.

Like the fix? Need additional help?
http://www.pcwatchdogs.com

Wills – i did not find asf.exe on my xp system. This is a problem for windows xp also. very frustrating that I can’t have both at once. my roxio 9 also lost the drives. I open disc copy and there is no hardware to copy from or to.

I have same problem on my Dell XPS system. You are one of the only places that have this resolution posted. Apple, Microsoft, and Dell refuse to support their products and are all too lazy to find a solution to have Vista and iTunes play nice together.

I am having the same problem as everyone else, but please help… i don’t know what high and low filters are. I went through all of the steps and got stuck at the h/l filters. What do they look like?

Thx,
Star

i found it, and my cd/dvd is working properly. However, i cant use itunes, or the same prob happens all over.

This is a problem for xp too.

Installing the latest GEAR drivers seems to have automatically altered my upper filters value. This still does not solve the problem though.

I have done all these things that everyone has suggested. NOTHING seems to actually work. Even if you get one of them to work, it seems that upon reboot you lose it anyway… I am so upset since I can not even back up my itunes library…

I tried the above fix, but to the right of the maximized “class” file, I don’t see a key that says cd/dvd on it!

I’m SO livid right now. This should have never happened, but since it HAS Apple SHOULD HAVE FIXED IT BY NOW!!!!!

I have 3800 songs in itunes that are STUCK there!!!

Jonna, Email us at sales@captive-8-media.co.uk we can assist you further there.

I have the EXACT same problem as Jonna! I really need help!

iTunes does not work with CD/DVD.
Internet always has so many problems that I can’t even download files. Nothing works.

I try to work iTunes CD/DVD and it says. “Disc Recording not Found”

Lee

I have the reverse problem. When I try to UNINSTALL itunes, my CD/DVD drives disappear. I am running Win XP on an older Dell and never had a problem until I wanted to move itunes to an external HD. I tried Wills fix (see post #8) but the afs.sys file does not appear in Win XP. I either leave it or keep hunting. Help!!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 248,380 hits

RSS Subscribe to my Blog

  • Get rid of unwanted applets in the control panel February 15, 2008
    Now i don’t know about you but i hate the new category based control panel that was introduced in windows xp (below). I much prefer the older “Classic View” in the control panel becuase i can find the applets that i want much easier this way. There is one problem, that is that the control is […]
    wizardcreations
  • Itunes makes my CD/DVD Drive Disappear! January 27, 2008
    I have had people talking to me about how their CD/DVD drive isnt visible in windows explorer any more just after they have installed itunes onto their vista PC. There is a simple fix for this other than the extreme option of restoring your machine to factory settings.  What itunes does is it changes the […]
    wizardcreations
  • Rename all your photos easier! December 3, 2007
    Love all of your photos but hate having to rename each one of them individually? There are programs out their that will actually rename them all for you automatically but that means departing with your cash. well there is a way to rename all your photos in one go. Lets say you have taken photos […]
    wizardcreations
  • How to get readyboost on XP: Using your Flash Drive as a Page File November 16, 2007
    I’m sure lots of people want to know this as those without vista feel left-out. Well you can get the performance gain that Ready-boost gives you on XP its just a bit more hidden away. lets face it Ready-Boost is a fancy word for making your USB Flash drive hold the computers page file. Ready-Boost […]
    wizardcreations
  • How to install RAM November 15, 2007
    Hi, this post is about how to install RAM. If you have read my other my posts on how to install RAM then you will have seen that in part 4 of how to speed up your computer i talked about getting the right RAM for your computer. Well now I’m going to show you how to install […]
    wizardcreations
  • TechXP Forum? November 15, 2007
    Since i started TechXP I’ve wanted the inclusion of a forum. This is because it will help people ask questions and get advice about their problems (with computers). I need to know if its the right time so your comments will be very appreciated here. firstly though im going to list a few Pros and […]
    wizardcreations
  • Speed up your computer Part 4/4: ReadyBoost and extra RAM November 11, 2007
    Speed up your computer part 4/4: ReadyBoost and extra RAM Hi, this is the last part of how to speed up your computer with little or no cash. Our other parts are Part 1 (defragment your hard drive) Part 2 (The Page File) Part 3 (The HDD file system and MSCONFIG) ReadyBoost Remember what we talked […]
    wizardcreations
  • Speed up your computer Part 3: Checking HDD File System and MSCONFIG November 9, 2007
    Get rid of FAT If you have upgraded your computer from windows 95 or 2000(windows 98 cant be upgraded to xp you have to upgrade to windows 2000 first) then your hard disk may still be using the old FAT32 file system. The FAT32 file system is slow and needs to be De-fragmented much more […]
    wizardcreations
  • Speed up your computer Part 2/4: The Page File November 7, 2007
    Use little or no money Giving your computer a little turbo boost if its lost its spark over the years is easy with some basic maintenance and a little money. Those that spend are going to get the best performance but for those that don’t want to spend anything extra will still see a good […]
    wizardcreations
  • Speed up you computer, really easily. Part 1/4: De-fragment Hard Disk November 6, 2007
    Speed up your computer in this simple to-do tutorial with hardly any cash. Your computer not a spry as it was? There are a couple of steps to do to make your computer faster if your having performance problems and in part 1 of this 4 part guide I’m going to show you how to […]
    wizardcreations

Add to Technorati Favorites

Archives

